London Taxi lapel pin.

London Taxi lapel pin.

The black beast is iconic for London Taxis, although today they come in all shapes and sizes. I’ve used taxis in London for more than 20 years and it’s always an adventure. They weave through traffic at a pace that would embarrass a Rome cabbie. They know the city in detail. Some years ago I got a taxi at Paddington Station going to University of London – I did get dropped off at the wrong place but it was just a short walk to the precise place. Going to my hotel near Euston Road from theaters and going from the hotel to the Victoria Coach Station was a breeze, and not all that expensive if you share a cab. They are clean, fair, fast, and efficient. On the way to the hotel from seeing Spamalot I had the most talkative driver I’ve ever met. He was opinionated in a way that was a delight. I love London, but I don’t really love the crush and the distances. But how else would it be London?

Location: 5-B3

