76 years of service for Downtown Lions Club, San Angelo, TX

76 years of service for Downtown Lions Club, San Angelo, TX

In 1998 the Downtown Lions Club in San Angelo Texas celebrated 76 years of service. The Lions Club in San Angelo is not the Lions Club I knew in Murray, KY. There the members were truly Lions, leaders of the community, oriented to service. I fell out with the San Angelo Lions owing to their ultra right conservatism, their making a meeting a kind of church service, and their being more like a VFW than a service club. I don’t want to minimize their service. They do yeoman’s work in eyeglass recycling and support a camp at Kerrville, TX for handicapped children. These are important. It seemed to me (hope I am wrong) that most people came to the meeting to have a good lunch and to socialize. Well, maybe that isn’t a bad thing.

I have two of these pins given to me by Clarence Geistman.

Location: 23-A2, A3

