Hawaii, beach, mountains, and islands

Hawaii, beach, mountains, and islands

This pin captures so much in such a small space. The beaches of course are great, and I’ve enjoyed them so much. There are mountains there, too, and at the tops you can experience really cold weather, including snow. The Island Chain is apparently created by Pacific Plate drift over a hot spot in the mantle, forcing up lava to build some of the tallest mountains (from the base to summit) in the world. I don’t know which island I prefer. I like Oahu, but it’s really for tourists. So is Maui for that matter, but its less developed, and on the east end there is Haliakala and the strange black “sand” (really pebble) beaches, and exotic wildlife and plants. The big island Hawaii, well I have stood there, a few feet from hot lava flowing down from Kilauea.

Location: 09-C2

