Thank God for Teachers!

Thank God for Teachers!

I’ve been a teacher since I was 16. I believe in GOOD teaching. I’ve studied the craft and to this day am working to make myself a better teacher. I wish we didn’t have to deal with agencies who are run by people with no teaching experience whatsoever who think they know what is needed in education. They remind me of the Circumlocution Office in Dickens’ Little Dorrit.

Bobby Knight is not my idea of the paragon of a nice person, but I have seen video of him teaching. He begins a class by asking students to list the hardest teacher they ever had. He goes on for a while having them list other things and then at the end he asks them to list the teacher that had most impact on their lives. Almost without exception the first name and the last were the same names.

A local principal told his faculty, “I don’t want to hear any of this enrichment nonsense. Just teach the test!” Some principal! The Texas Legislature is concerned with “accountability” as if teachers were unaccountably unaccountable. Balderdash. Every teacher I know who stays in the field is always concerned with the progress and success of his or her students. There are, to be sure, some rotten apples, but I suspect there may be some as well in the Legislature. They may be even less accountable than teachers are supposed to be. Thank God for Teachers!

Location: 14-A1

