Kansas the Sunflower State

Kansas the Sunflower State

I spent 6 years in Kansas at the University of Kansas (Lawrence) getting my PhD in Physics. I lived in mediocre housing and worked as a teaching assistant and later as a research assistant. I completed my final orals for my doctorate 4 days before I had to report to the US Army all the way in Aberdeen Maryland. Kansas is an ultraconservative state that has many good people and some of the worst as is in my opinion the pastor who leads shouting protests at funerals of servicemen killed in action. Some are surprised that neither Kansas City, nor Topeka are the largest cities in Kansas. The largest is Wichita. As the pin shows, Kansas calls itself “The Sunflower State.” Some time ago there was a tiff between Iowa and Kansas, so Iowa declared the sunflower “The Iowa State Weed.”

Location: 16-A1

